Meet Karla Mikešová our Czech Coordinator!

Tell us about your work/role with SOL:  

I have been working as a coordinator for the Czech Republic since 2011. I support teachers who bring students to SOL. I help with course organisation, admin work, travel arrangements and money transfer. I regularly come to SOL with a group of 40 students. I promote SOL in my country, I give information, advice, I make new contacts. I attend conferences, I do school visits and I arrange tours in my country for Mark. I also keep in touch and cooperate with regional coordinators (SK, PL) on regular basis. We help each other, cover places at conferences if needed, share information, updates. I keep in touch with the office, SOL teachers and Mark Andrews.

What, or who, was your first encounter with SOL?

I came to SOL to the office in Barnstaple in October 2010 by myself. I wanted to get a link with a language school in England for my students. I got an idea and expectations and was personally visiting language schools mainly in the south of England, but I couldn't find a suitable (convenient) contact. In October 2010 I was going to spend a weekend in Croyde and on the way there I decided to stop in Barnstaple and to find out about SOL. I knocked on the office door of SOL and met Sharon and Zoe there. Immediately, I fell in love with SOL!

And the winner is 2016
What do you love about SOL? 

I love people at SOL and people in Devon, the structure of the courses (lessons-visits-home task connection), setting (location of North Devon and the school setting too), cooperation with other teachers, SOL – Sharing One Language and connecting people.

Where and what direction would you like to see SOL take in the future?  

I´d like SOL to stay in Devon and to keep the standard and quality of the student courses as well as teacher training courses. I´d like the courses to be useful, motivating, inspiring and moving for students and teachers.

When you’re not supporting SOL, what do you do?

I also work as a secondary school teacher in the city of Brno at the grammar school Gymnazium Matyase Lercha. In my free time I am keen on travelling, skiing, hiking and beach walks. I look after my two teenage daughters and I like to spend free time with my friends.  

If you would like more information on bringing a group from The Czech Republic please visit our Czech page or email Karla at sol.mail@seznam.cz